share this

Share This Search

About . Leadership . Office of the President . Past Presidents 

Past Presidents

The Cleveland Institute of Art was founded in 1882. Since then, CIA has been led by 11 presidents, not including those who served interim roles.

Cleveland Institute of Art President Grafton Nunes with former presidents Joseph McCullough '48 and David Deming '67

CIA President Kathryn Heidemann with former presidents Grafton Nunes and David Deming '67.

Presidents of the Cleveland Institute of Art

2022-Present Kathryn Heidemann
2010-2022 Grafton J. Nunes
1998-2010 David L. Deming ‘67
1997-1998 Paul Eickmann, interim president
1990-1997 Bob Mayer
1989-1990 Joseph McCullough
1988-1989 Roger DesRosiers
1954–1988 Joseph McCullough
1946–1954 Laurence Schmeckebier
1931-1946 Henry Hunt Clark
1919–1930 Henry Turner Bailey
1891–1919 Georgie Leighton Norton
1882–1891 Harriet Kester



Office of the President
Cleveland Institute of Art
11610 Euclid Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44106